Log inUsernamePassword
Log me on automatically each visit    
Register
Register
Log in to check your private messages
Log in to check your private messages
CJ Webmaster Forums Forum Index -> PHP Scripts » CJ Users Online

Post new topic   
Does users online work in Win XP? - (Solved)
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
diamondnular



Joined: 30 Mar 2005
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Thu Mar 31, 2005 4:06 am    Post subject: Does users online work in Win XP? - (Solved) Reply with quote

Hi all,

I do not know that this free script can be used in XP or not. I am using IIS 5.1 with MySQL 4.1 and php 4.3.10. I installed and it works. But still have I a problem of just only 1 user online. When I read through the forum, the solution seems to be applied with Linux invironment with chmod 777 the folder usersonline. For my server, in IIS, I make that folder to be writable, readable and runable scripts also. But no help. Always 1 user. Any suggestion?

Thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
PHPDUMMY
CJ-Design.com Moderator



Joined: 09 Mar 2005
Posts: 495
Location: South East Kentucky,U.S.A.

PostPosted: Thu Mar 31, 2005 4:11 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

One suggestion comes to mind { Off Subject }.........

You should consider upgrading your version of PHP to help ensure the security of your site.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
darkcarnival
CJ-Design.com Moderator



Joined: 10 Jul 2003
Posts: 1158
Location: Michigan

PostPosted: Thu Mar 31, 2005 3:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

yes this script will work with a windows server

just about every php script will work with all operating systems unles told otherwise.
_________________
List of Mods to James Scripts!
http://www.cj-design.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=1798

Elite Bulletin Board, comming soon!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website MSN Messenger
diamondnular



Joined: 30 Mar 2005
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Thu Mar 31, 2005 3:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks PHPDUMMY, i am trying to upgrade PHP to version 5.

Thanks darkcarnival. So it works in Windows, and I think I made it run. But I always get 1 user online error (as many do) which makes me to think of not runable in Windows.

So anybody using IIS in windows see the same situation as me? Any help?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
diamondnular



Joined: 30 Mar 2005
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Thu Mar 31, 2005 8:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hey guys. Sorry for disturbing. I do not know why, but today, my counter works. It shows the number of visitors online not just one visitor. I did not do any thing. That's strange.

Another I want to add here for people wanting to put usersonline in htm file. Change the below codes in users.php

if ($user == 1){
echo "<b>$user</b> User Online";
}
else{
echo "<b>$user</b> Users Online";
}

to

if ($user == 1){
echo "document.write('<font size=1 face=arial> There is ','$user',' visitor online.</font>');";
}
else{
echo "document.write('<font size=1 face=arial> There are ','$user',' visitors online.</font>');";
}

and put this code in anywhere in your htm file:

<script language="Javascript" src="http://your.path.site/usersonline/users.php"></script>

I did that way and it works.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
darkcarnival
CJ-Design.com Moderator



Joined: 10 Jul 2003
Posts: 1158
Location: Michigan

PostPosted: Fri Apr 01, 2005 2:02 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

yea that can happen dude Wink

and thats cool how you got this to work in html Wink

so ill mark this topic as solved Smile
_________________
List of Mods to James Scripts!
http://www.cj-design.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=1798

Elite Bulletin Board, comming soon!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website MSN Messenger
Dragonrider



Joined: 31 Jul 2005
Posts: 4
Location: Ilkley, UK

PostPosted: Sun Jul 31, 2005 10:56 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

diamondnular wrote:

Another I want to add here for people wanting to put usersonline in htm file. Change the below codes in users.php

if ($user == 1){
echo "<b>$user</b> User Online";
}
else{
echo "<b>$user</b> Users Online";
}

to

if ($user == 1){
echo "document.write('<font size=1 face=arial> There is ','$user',' visitor online.</font>');";
}
else{
echo "document.write('<font size=1 face=arial> There are ','$user',' visitors online.</font>');";
}

and put this code in anywhere in your htm file:

<script language="Javascript" src="http://your.path.site/usersonline/users.php"></script>

I did that way and it works.


OH NEAT! Thank you, this was where I was falling down, I wanted to add it to a HTML page, as against a PHP page, and couldn't work out why I couldn't get the include php bit to work, thanks again!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic       CJ Webmaster Forums Forum Index -> PHP Scripts » CJ Users Online All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group
iCGstation v1.0 Template By Ray © 2003, 2004 iOptional, Mods by CJ Website Design