Log inUsernamePassword
Log me on automatically each visit    
Register
Register
Log in to check your private messages
Log in to check your private messages
CJ Webmaster Forums Forum Index » Other Technical Help

Post new topic   Reply to topic
Cobalt RAQ3 ?
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
PHPDUMMY
CJ-Design.com Moderator



Joined: 09 Mar 2005
Posts: 573
Location: South East Kentucky,U.S.A.

PostPosted: Tue Nov 29, 2005 5:06 pm    Post subject: Cobalt RAQ3 ? Reply with quote

Okay , lets see if anyone can hit this topic.....

I currently run my Apache (2.055) web-server off of my little bittie 1.8ghz p.c. .... Ive ran it for several years , and ive learned alot along the way.

About 2-3 months ago , i purchased 2 Cobalt RAQ3 web-servers from E-bay.

They both have been stepped up internally to run as an RAQ4 and faster than the 550 (supposedly,technical data suggest otherwise).

The guy finally sent me my 2 serial cables to connect them and so forth.

Yet the RAQ3 has two serial cable connections on the back.
so my first question is: which is which? as they have markings but dont tell me nothing.

Now what i thought of (today).... was ..... would it be possible to have my current Apache on my pc actually make connections to each server through the serial ports ? is that possible?

Hard to explain really....

Say like....

PC--Apache Server....
--Serial Connect --> --Cobalt RAQ3 ---->FTP Maybe ?
--Serial Connect --> --Coblat RAQ3 ---->SMTP Maybe ?

I really dont like the Cobalt RAQ3 (now that ive bought it) and id kinda like to still utilize them as seperate services if possible.

So would it possible To have my Apache direct certain services/requests to these other servers?
_________________
Cheers,
Danny
C-J Search Engine All Tidied Up V4.0http://www.cj-design.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=1820

C-J Search Engine MySQL !http://www.cj-design.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=1555
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
darkcarnival
CJ-Design.com Admin



Joined: 10 Jul 2003
Posts: 1473
Location: Michigan

PostPosted: Tue Nov 29, 2005 8:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

it should be possible phpdummy as thats how the big boys do it Wink

but sadly networking isnt my strongest set of knowledge but being in a networking class atm i do know its possible.

you would have to hook up the machines to a switch which is connected to a router which has the internet access.

now have a main maachine that would contain all thw software and have the other machines run from it where it would have special items like a mysql server, mail server, ect.
_________________
Admin of CJ-Design Forum
watch out spammers, I'm watching you! Twisted Evil

offical rules:
http://www.cj-design.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=2002

Elite Bulletin Board v0.5 try it out today!
http://www.elite-board.z42.us/

version 0.9 coming soon!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website MSN Messenger
PHPDUMMY
CJ-Design.com Moderator



Joined: 09 Mar 2005
Posts: 573
Location: South East Kentucky,U.S.A.

PostPosted: Tue Nov 29, 2005 9:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

good , someone understood what id like to do...lol...


well , i know a little bit about networking but im no big boy..

ive looked at the cobalt interface a dozen or more times , i hate it personally..

so , lets see , so i wonder if i can do it by serial connection ?

probrably just use ethernet to the router.... im thinkin......

so , id have to have a computer with several ethernet adapters to connect to the closed router which would then connect each server.....

mmmmm....... sounds promising.....

im planning this in the future , probrably at least 6-12 months from now.... i think id like to get set up to offer free hosting, etc....

The thing that i really thought about is storage , and load balancing ... by seperating it all out as seperate services , should A> confuse typical hackers and script kiddies B> suffer less strain on any 1 server C>be the next yahoo.....hehe....
_________________
Cheers,
Danny
C-J Search Engine All Tidied Up V4.0http://www.cj-design.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=1820

C-J Search Engine MySQL !http://www.cj-design.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=1555
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    CJ Webmaster Forums Forum Index » Other Technical Help All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group
iCGstation v1.0 Template By Ray © 2003, 2004 iOptional, Mods by CJ Website Design